Excuse me, I’m from… ?

I’m at a place now where I’m not supposed to be.

Wait, this statement is a blunder according to me. But, people. They speak.

Because my 12th std. board exams are nearing, and I’m supposed to be reading Economics textbook or solve Accountancy. But not my fault! The spark in me, to write, glows brightly before exams. Huh. And, I just read William Faulkner’s quote, “If a story is in you, it has got to come out” Then how can I keep mum.

So, now I’m writing about my sad story. Like, how I stumble when I’m asked about my native or where I’m from.

Before few days, I gave my practical examination. And I had to interact with my external examiner.The first question she asked after reading my name was, “Oh, so you’re a South Indian?”

I felt to say, “I’m an Indian.” (Thank god I didn’t. I didn’t want to put my marks at stake!)But, I’m happy she didn’t ask my state.

Becauseeeee…..Wait, Read this conversation and you’ll understand why am I happy!

Friend: Hey, so where are you from?

Me: Mmm… I’m born in Kerala.

Friend: Oh, your mother tongue is Malayalam?

Me: No… No….. I’m a Tamilian and my mother tongue is Tamil.

Friend: How come Kerala, then?

Me: My maternal side is settled in Kerala even though we’re Tamilians.

Friend: So, you spent your childhood in Tamil Nadu?

Me: NO…. 7 years in Andhra Pradesh and almost 7 years in Maharashtra.

Friend: Oh my god. Leave all that. Finally, your native place is TN or KL?

Me: Pleasee… Change the topic. I’ll let you know once I’m sure about it.

See..? My condition. This has become the story of my life.

Just to clarify the fact..

-I watch a hell lot of Malayalam movies and Tamil movies.

But don’t ask me my favourite.

-I and my mom discuss about Oommen Chandy and O. Panneerselvam and worry about both the states’ development.

But don’t ask me the one I care for, the most.

-We celebrate Tamil festivals and the festivals of Kerala like Onam, Vishu.

But don’t ask me which is more fun.

-I support Kochi Tuskers, Kerala Blasters and Chennai Super Kings, Chennaian FC.

But please… Don’t ask me to support only one.

-I eat Ona Sadhya (Onam feast) and the Kalyana Chappadu (wedding feast of TN)

Don’t ask me to choose one.

I’m proud and love to be a Talayalee. (Tamilian+Malayalee)

Even if I can choose one, I won’t. All the states of India is beautiful in its own way.

It’s really hard to choose. So, here’s to all who ask about my place.

“I’m an Indian.”

(I know it sounds sappy and chauvinistic. Sigh.

But at least I can escape from a few, in the future. Phew.)

6 thoughts on “Excuse me, I’m from… ?”

  1. I totally understand… Even I have somewhat same case but slightly worse than yours.
    I’m a tamilian who never stayed in tamil nadu, born in mumbai but stayed there only till i was 1 year old, shifted to 5 places and changed 9 schools. Even my mom is born and brought up in Mumbai.

  2. Lol, I want to say I’m tamilian rather Indian just because, the nor th guys just ask are you a south Indian? As you said, they sometimes cease to consider us Indian lol… 🙂

Leave a Reply

